WSET Level 3 Advanced Course AC 519

Wednesdays, May 29th - September 25th, 6pm - 8:30pm

Reading Material:

Understanding Wines: Explaining Style and Quality

  • Date
  • Session
  • Topic
  • Reading
  • Wednesday, May 29, 2019
  • 1
  • Course Induction and Tasting Technique
  • Chap. 1-3; VIDEO: Rules of Wine Labelling
  • Wednesday, June 5, 2019
  • 2
  • Natural and Human Factors in the Vineyard
  • Chap. 4-6
  • Wednesday, June 19, 2019
  • 3
  • Human Factors in the Winery that influence Style, Quality and Price
  • Chap. 7-11
  • Wednesday, June 26, 2019
  • 4
  • The White Wines of Burgundy, the Loire Valley and Bordeaux
  • Chap. 8, 13-15, 18; VIDEO: Bordeaux Classification, Burgundy Appellations
  • Wednesday, July 10, 2019
  • 5
  • The White Wines of Germany, Alsace, Austria and the Tokaj region of Hungary
  • Chap. 8, 17, 22­-25; VIDEO: Alsatian Appellations, German Wine Laws, Austrian Wine Laws, Greek Wine Laws, Tokaji Sweet Wine Laws
  • Wednesday, July 17, 2019
  • 6
  • Red & Rosé Wines of Bordeaux, South West France, and the Loire Valley
  • Chap. 9, 12­-14, 18; VIDEOS: French Wine Laws, Bordeaux Classification
  • Wednesday, July 24, 2019
  • 7
  • Red Wines of Burgundy and Beaujolais; Red and White Wine of the N. Rhone Valley
  • Chap. 9, 15­-16, 19; VIDEOS: Hierarchy of Burgundy Appellations
  • Wednesday, July 31, 2019
  • 8
  • Red, White and Rosé Wines of S. Rhone Valley, S France; Red Wines of Mediterranean Spain; White Wines of Spain & Portugal
  • Chap. 9, 20-­21, 30-­31
  • Wednesday, August 7, 2019
  • 9
  • Red Wines of Northern Spain; Red & White Wines of Northern Italy
  • Chap. 26­-27; VIDEOS: Spanish Wine Laws
  • Wednesday, August 14, 2019
  • 10
  • Red & White Wines of Central & S. Italy; Portuguese Reds; Greek Reds & Whites
  • Chap. 25, 28-29; 31; VIDEO: Italian and Greek Wine Laws
  • Wednesday, August 21, 2019
  • 11
  • Premium Red Wine Regions of North America, Australia and New Zealand
  • Chap. 32­-35, 38-40; VIDEOS: USA and Canada Wine Laws and Australia Wine Laws
  • Wednesday, August 28, 2019
  • 12
  • Premium White Wine Regions of North America, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand
  • Chap. 32­-35, 38-40; VIDEOS: USA and Canada Wine Laws, South Africa and Australia Wine Laws
  • Wednesday, September 4, 2019
  • 13
  • South America; Regional Specialties of the New World
  • Chap. 36-37; Video: Chile
  • Wednesday, September 11, 2019
  • 14
  • Sparkling Wines
  • Chap. 41-42
  • Wednesday, September 18, 2019
  • 15
  • Fortified Wines
  • Chap. 43-45
  • Wednesday, September 25, 2019
  • Exam
  • Please arrive 15 minutes prior. Bring PHOTO ID

No class on June 12th and July 3rd.

Dates and topics subject to change.

All sessions include tasting. Please do not wear scent.