WSET Level 3 Advanced Course AC 419

Tuesdays, April 9th - July 23rd, 6:00 pm - 8:30pm

Reading Material:

Understanding Wines: Explaining Style and Quality

  • Date
  • Session
  • Topic
  • Reading
  • Tuesday, April 9, 2019
  • 1
  • Course Induction and Tasting Technique
  • Chap. 1-3; VIDEO: Rules of Wine Labelling
  • Tuesday, April 16, 2019
  • 2
  • Natural and Human Factors in the Vineyard
  • Chap. 4-6
  • Tuesday, April 23, 2019
  • 3
  • Human Factors in the Winery that influence Style, Quality and Price
  • Chap. 7-11
  • Tuesday, April 30, 2019
  • 4
  • The White Wines of Burgundy, the Loire Valley and Bordeaux
  • Chap. 8, 13-15, 18; VIDEO: Bordeaux Classification, Burgundy Appellations
  • Tuesday, May 7, 2019
  • 5
  • The White Wines of Germany, Alsace, Austria and the Tokaj region of Hungary
  • Chap. 8, 17, 22­-25; VIDEO: Alsatian Appellations, German Wine Laws, Austrian Wine Laws, Greek Wine Laws, Tokaji Sweet Wine Laws
  • Tuesday, May 14, 2019
  • 6
  • Red & Rosé Wines of Bordeaux, South West France, and the Loire Valley
  • Chap. 9, 12­-14, 18; VIDEOS: French Wine Laws, Bordeaux Classification
  • Tuesday, May 21, 2019
  • 7
  • Red Wines of Burgundy and Beaujolais; Red and White Wine of the N. Rhone Valley
  • Chap. 9, 15­-16, 19; VIDEOS: Hierarchy of Burgundy Appellations
  • Tuesday, May 28, 2019
  • 8
  • Red, White and Rosé Wines of S. Rhone Valley, S France; Red Wines of Mediterranean Spain; White Wines of Spain & Portugal
  • Chap. 9, 20-­21, 30-­31
  • Tuesday, June 4, 2019
  • 9
  • Red Wines of Northern Spain; Red & White Wines of Northern Italy
  • Chap. 26­-27; VIDEOS: Spanish Wine Laws
  • Tuesday, June 11, 2019
  • 10
  • Red & White Wines of Central & S. Italy; Portuguese Reds; Greek Reds & Whites
  • Chap. 25, 28-29; 31; VIDEO: Italian and Greek Wine Laws
  • Tuesday, June 18, 2019
  • 11
  • Premium White Wine Regions of North America, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand
  • Chap. 32­-35, 38-40; VIDEOS: USA and Canada Wine Laws, South Africa and Australia Wine Laws
  • Tuesday, June 25, 2019
  • 12
  • Premium Red Wine Regions of North America, Australia and New Zealand
  • Chap. 32­-35, 38-40; VIDEOS: USA and Canada Wine Laws, South Africa and Australia Wine Laws
  • Tuesday, July 2, 2019
  • 13
  • South America; Regional Specialties of the New World
  • Chap. 36-37; Video: Chile
  • Tuesday, July 9, 2019
  • 14
  • Sparkling Wines
  • Chap. 41-42
  • Tuesday, July 16, 2019
  • 15
  • Fortified Wines
  • Chap. 43-45
  • Tuesday, July 23, 2019
  • Exam
  • Please arrive 15 minutes prior. Bring PHOTO ID

Dates and topics subject to change.

All sessions include tasting. Please do not wear scent.